Post-Valentine’s Day Lunch

My boyfriend had the wonderful idea to make dinner for my grandma on Valentine’s Day. Since our one year anniversary was at the beginning of February, we decided that we would put more emphasis on celebrating that special day together instead of Valentine’s Day. So, we were going to go over to my grandma’s house on Valentine’s Day to cook her dinner, but due to the snow storm, we had to post-pone until Sunday (February 16).

My boyfriend and I decided to cook Spinach Lasagna Rolls for my grandma. My boyfriend’s mom introduced me to this dish last summer and I loved it! It was so nice to be able to prepare a healthy, home-cooked meal in the kitchen instead of eating food from the dining hall on campus. This meal was special because it was the first meal my boyfriend and I cooked together. I used the Spinach Lasagna Roll recipe that I found on Gina’s Skinny Recipes. However, I used a bit more sauce than the recipe calls for because I really like sauce! The dish was simple and easy to make.

Ingredients:

  • 9 lasagna noodles, cooked
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed and completely drained
  • 15 oz fat free ricotta cheese (I like Polly-o)
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 egg
  • salt and fresh pepper
  • 32 oz tomato sauce
  • 9 tbsp (about 3 oz) part skim mozzarella cheese, shredded

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350Β°. Combine spinach, ricotta, Parmesan, egg, salt and pepper in a medium bowl. Ladle about 1 cup sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 12 baking dish.

Place a piece of wax paper on the counter and lay out lasagna noodles. Make sure noodles are dry. Take 1/3 cup of ricotta mixture and spread evenly over noodle. Roll carefully and place seam side down onto the baking dish. Repeat with remaining noodles.

Ladle sauce over the noodles in the baking dish and top each one with 1 tbsp mozzarella cheese. Put foil over baking dish and bake for 40 minutes, or until cheese melts. Makes 9 rolls.

To serve, ladle a little sauce on the plate and top with lasagna roll.

One thought on “Post-Valentine’s Day Lunch

Leave a Reply

