Spring Break 2014 (Part 1) – Hello Pittsburgh

It has been far too long since I have posted on here. School has been keeping me busy ever since I came back from Spring break. But as promised, I am going to share a little bit about the adventures I had over Spring Break!

Saturday March 8th marked the start of Spring Break 2014 for me. Brendan and I woke up early Saturday morning to catch a train at the Lynchburg train station. Our train left at 10 a.m. and from there we were on our way to Washington D.C.. This was my second time riding the train and I loved it! I enjoy the whole experience of travel in general. There is just something thrilling about going on new adventures! Once in D.C., we met up with Brendan’s brother Kevin and from there we all drove to Pittsburgh together. It was a beautiful day for traveling. We arrived in Pittsburgh a little after 7:30 p.m. that night.

Sunday March 9th was a very leisurely day spent with Brendan and his family. After church, we all went to lunch at The Grandview Saloon restaurant in Mount Washington. The view that we had from the restaurant over looking Pittsburgh was stunning! I couldn’t take my eyes away from the splendor that was laid out before me. We didn’t actually go into the city on Sunday though. We all ended up doing some shopping and then just spending the rest of the afternoon at home.

Monday March 10th proved to be a slightly warmer day. And since the sun was shining we decided to take advantage of the nice weather and spend some time outdoors. Brendan and I, along with Brendan’s mom and brother, spent the afternoon at Mingo Creek County Park walking around taking pictures of the lovely covered bridges and enjoying the little bit of warmth that decided to appear. I can only imagine that the park will be ten times lovelier when summer has come!

(More to come in my next post about Spring Break 2014)

 

 

Leave a Reply

