LAMP 2014 Magazine Launch Party

Last Friday (April 4) The White Hart Cafe hosted the launch party for LAMP magazine’s 2014 issue. “What is The White Hart Cafe and LAMP magazine?”, you may ask.Β  Well, The White Hart Cafe is a local coffee shop that is located in downtown Lynchburg. In my opinion, it’s one of the coolest spots in town; a place where college students, locals and hipsters can kick back with a good book and an even better cup of coffee. LAMP magazine just happens to be Liberty University‘s literary publication which features art, fiction, poetry, and creative non-fiction from both current students and alumni. This year my creative fiction writing professor, Nicholas Olson, is acting executive editor of LAMP magazine. Professor Olson encouraged my classmates and I to attend the event, so that’s exactly what I did.

The event included a live poetry/fiction reading. Several of the pieces that made it into this years issue of the magazine were read aloud by the authors. I actually had to cover the event with one of my classmates for a class writing assignment; I had the job of photographer for the event. I was thrilled that I got to attend the launch party and experience my first live poetry reading. There are definitely a lot of talented writers in the local area and I am proud of the Liberty students and alumni for their beautiful work. It was quite an inspiring evening.

Leave a Reply

