Ocean City, New Jersey

Last week I had the wonderful opportunity of getting to join Brendan and his family on a week long vacation in Ocean City, New Jersey. On Monday May 12, I took my first train ride by myself from Charlottesville, VA to Washington D.C. where I met Brendan and his mom. From D.C., we all drove to Ocean City.

It has been years since I have been able to go to the beach for a vacation and I had only been to Ocean City once before for a day trip to the beach last year, so I was quite ready for some relaxation and adventure in New Jersey. I love visiting new places, meeting new people and experiencing new things so I knew that a week in New Jersey would be a delight.

We arrived at the beach house Brendan’s family had rented in Ocean City a little after 4 p.m.. After exchanging a few “hellos” with the rest of Brendan’s family and settling into my room (which just happened to have a view of the beach from the window), Brendan and I set out to walk seven blocks down the street to the nearest Starbucks. Hey, I needed some caffeine to re-energize myself after hours of traveling. The new Starbucks on Asbury Avenue is so lovely! It is quite possibly the nicest Starbucks I have ever been to (as far as atmosphere and scenery go). Let’s just say I liked it so much that I made a visit there almost every day that I was in Ocean City.Β After grabbing a couple of iced drinks from Starbucks, Brendan and I took a little stroll along the boardwalk.

Once night had fallen and covered the beach in a splendid coat of darkness, Brendan and I decided to take a walk along the beach together. This was my first time walking along the beach late at night and it was a beautiful thing. There was not a soul around, not even the stars could be seen. It was just me and Brendan and the enchanting waves that beat ceaselessly against the shore. As I stood mesmerized at the waters edge, I could not help but think about Edgar Allan Poe’s famous poem “Annabel Lee” and Herman Melville’s novelΒ Moby Dick. Not that the ocean scene before me reminded me of a specific scene from those beautiful works of literature, but it made me think of the mighty ocean itself and how hauntingly beautiful and powerful it was in those pieces of literature. It was a perfect way to start my week in Ocean City.

In my next few posts, I will post some of the many pictures I took while in Ocean City. I hope you will enjoy the recounting of my delightful week by the sea.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

