Things to be Happy About, V. 1

There have been a lot of things on my mind recently that have been causing me to stress and worry more than I probably should. Things like feeling restless and wanting to travel, paying for school, finding a job, making my house look better, etc., etc., etc. I could go on and on naming things that have been getting me down lately and giving me a case of the summer time blues, but what good would that do?

I try to be a positive person. My mom and my grandma are both strong positive women and they have instilled in me the knowledge that it is better to count your blessings and the things you are happy about rather than sit around and dwell on all of the the negative things that creep into your life. Concentrating on the positive things in your life will put you in a happier mood and help to lighten the load you bear.

I have started memorizing scripture with Brendan, focusing on a verse each week. Our verse for this week is Psalm 55:22 which says, “Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous fall.”  I am learning to do just that. By giving my worries to God, I am relieved of my burdens and I can focus on all of the blessings in my life.

So I have decided that I am going to try to be more positive minded this summer. I am starting a new series on my blog called “Things to be Happy About” that I will post from time to time. I got this idea from Carlotta Cisternas’ blog (which just happens to be one of my favorite blogs that I read) and thought it would be a great way to remind myself just how blessed I am.

Here are some things that I am happy about this week:

Cooking healthy foods in my kitchen (a luxury I do not have at school) / / Reading the Bible with Brendan over Skype / / New home improvement projects / / Getting back into yoga / / Drinking out of mason jars / / Having time to read good books / / Long car rides and conversations about life with daddy / / The smell of honeysuckle in the air / / My strawberry patch / / Being able to live on campus again in the fall / / Celebrating 16 months together with Brendan / / Getting letters in the mail 

What are some things that you are happy about?

One thought on “Things to be Happy About, V. 1

  1. One of the first things I had noticed about the women in your family is that they are very positive. I hope being around us for 2 weeks did not make you stressed. There does seem to be some stress around my family, lol, especially now. A dear friend of mine from NC prayed with me last week and challenged me that when I spend time in prayer each morning to reflect on the day before and the things that I can be thankful for that God has done in my life. I confess that I have not being doing that. This morning, as I wrote an email to my sister, I realized that I had some things to be thankful for and I shared them with her. They are that her son (my nephew), who had a serious motorcycle accident and fractured his neck was okay and did not have to miss work even with a fractured neck; his father who has rode motorcycles since he probably has had a license, was hit by a pickup truck who did not stop at a stop sign only a couple of blocks from his home. Though his bike was totaled, he was okay, very sore, but okay. And my oldest son, had a stress test for his heart. They found that there might be something there and they need to do another test. He has to stop taking medication that he has been on, but I am thankful that they found it before anything serious did happen.
    And one more important thing to be thankful for: that God put you in our lives and mine to speak to my heart about thankfulness because I didn’t get it the first time last week! I am thankful for the example of faithfulness and thankfulness in you, your Maw and Ma’s lives.

Leave a Reply

