Time is Slipping Away

It’s been a while since I have posted anything on here. I had all of these wonderful ideas of blog posts that I would write, such as my going vegan for a week, new recipes, etc. But the truth is that I just haven’t felt very inspired or motivated to photograph anything or to write. And you know what, that’s okay. I’ve been spending more time cleaning up around my house and cracking open a few good books and just hanging out with my family and pets. I’m learning that I don’t always have to have something extravagant or astounding to post on here. Simpler is better sometimes.

I’d love to be writing about grand adventures I’ve been having, but in all honesty my summer hasn’t been very exciting so far. I find myself looking forward to going back to school in August (crazy right!) and being able to hang out with friends and learning about the things I love and the things like math that I don’t love at all. I think that part of this reasoning is because I am ready to start my senior year and be done with college and move on to the next chapter of my life. Another reason is that it just feels good to be busy and doing something productive. The lazy days of summer are nice for about a month, but after that I start feeling restless and feeling like I have just a little bit too much free time on my hands.

I say that I’m ready to go back to school already because I feel like I’ve almost had enough lazy summer days. But in reality, summer has just begun. And summer is meant to be a time for relaxing and breathing in the fresh air, a time to take things a bit more slowly and actually enjoy and savor each moment. While I’ve had my lazy days, they haven’t exactly been relaxing. I come up with all of these little chores and tasks that I need to do and try to do too much multitasking (which we know doesn’t really accomplish that much). And then if I don’t fulfill these tasks or I feel like doing something other than what I wrote on my to do list, I end up feeling like I am wasting my time because I’m not doing what was written on that little sheet of paper. But that’s how I should be spending my summer months!

I shouldn’t be making strict schedules for myself that I feel bad for not sticking to, I’m supposed to be having a break from school and enjoying the free time that I have. I’m not saying that it’s a bad thing to keep a list of tasks that need to be done, it’s actually a great reminder for those little daily chores. But what I am saying is that I should be enjoying the freedom that comes with summer instead of sitting back and wishing the summer days away.  I know one day after I have graduated, moved away from home and have started my own life I will look back on these easy summer days and wish that they wouldn’t have slipped through my fingers as fast as they did. I should be using this free time, while I am not in school, to focus on my hobbies and passions and doing the things I love. Things like photography, writing, cooking, painting, reading, etc. I know that when I’m at school all I think about is summer time and the freedom I will have to do theses things and then I don’t end up doing a single one them.

I had time to stop and ponder all of this the other evening when the power was out at my house. There were a lot of thunder storms in the surrounding area and while it didn’t actually rain at my house, we did end up losing power for about two hours. And in those two hours I was able to sit in the peace and quiet of my living room, without any technology to distract me from my thoughts or the sounds of nature. So as I sat listening to the birds chirping outside, I did some reading and journaling, two things I love to do but sadly don’t do as often as I used to. I was able to sit and think about how the summer months would soon start slipping from my grasp and I would be left wondering where the time had gone and what I had wasted my time doing.

So, I have decided to not rush the summer. I am going to take things one day at a time and try to find the joy in whatever comes my way!

*                *                *

And now I think it’s time for Things to be Happy About, V. II:

Homemade cherry pie w/ vanilla ice cream / / Enjoying a nice quiet house for a change / / Watching the 7th season of Gilmore Girls / / Discovering old issues of the Liberty Champion while cleaning / / A nice clean reading nook / / Folk music / / Big steaming cups of coffee in the morning / / My little sister coming home yesterday / / Thunder storms and the nice cool air they bring / / Thoughtful gifts from my boyfriend 

 

 

Leave a Reply

