New Begginings

It has been far too long since I have posted on here! I really don’t know how I end up ignoring my blog and my journal for so long. As much as I have missed writing on here, I think it is important to step back and actually enjoy the moments in your life. I kind of decided to step back from blogging while I was in Pittsburgh visiting Brendan toward the end of the summer. I wanted to focus on spending time with him and his family and enjoying the time and moments we had together. And then there was the fact that when I came back home, I had less than a week to clean and pack up all of my stuff to get ready to move back on campus and start my senior year of college at Liberty University. It still hasn’t really hit me that I am a senior in college. It may sound cliche, but it really does feel like I just started my freshman year of college a few weeks ago. On top of my hectic week of transitioning from Pittsburgh back to Lynchburg, I had a job interview that popped up. So needless to say, I was a bit frazzled that week before school. Even though I didn’t feel like I was ready to be starting classes again and saying goodbye to summer, it was best for me to be thrown right back into school.

So that’s where I am today. It’s the fourth week of classes and I am loving every minute of being back on campus. Every new day has brought something new and challenging for me. But I’m learning to love the busyness of my schedule and the heavy workload, because it just really helps me to appreciate those little moments of quiet and solitude when they happen to come my way. I’m learning not to take this stage of my life for granted and trusting that God’s timing is always perfect.

So far I am having the best dorm room experience of my time in college. My roommates and I get along so well and there is never a dull moment when they are around. Even though my dorm room is small and there are three of us living together, I think our set up is cute, clean and well organized, which helps me focus a lot better when I am working in the room. Who wants distracting clutter in their room anyway?!

I am writing for the feature section of Liberty’s newspaper The Liberty Champion again this semester. I just finished writing my third article of the semester! The thing that I really love about journalism is the fact that I get to meet some super nice people and then I get to help tell their story. That’s so important to me. My goal this semester (and the rest of my time in college) is to be as involved with the Champion as I can! So for my Christian Service (CSER) this semester, I decided to help deliver the paper around campus when a new issue comes out on Tuesdays. I started this this past Tuesday (September 2) and I actually really enjoyed doing it. I like getting to help out with the little behind the scene details like that that seem pretty small and unimportant, but are really vital to the life of the paper. The way I see it is that I get to help the staff of the paper with this tedious chore AND I get to walk around campus and get my exercise (bonus!).

The only downside about being back at school and living in a dorm room is having to give up cooking healthy homemade meals. There are a few, and I mean just a very few, Vegan options in the dining hall and other dining areas on campus, but the healthy choices are very limited. While I am not strictly Vegan, I have learned that my body feels so much better when I stick to a mostly plant based, natural diet. While it is extremely hard to do that while on the meal plan at Liberty, it is not impossible. I make sure to keep my mini fridge in my dorm room stocked with frozen fruits, unsweetened almond milk, salsa, spinach and kale, etc. And I also always have fruit on hand such as mangoes, apples, bananas, lemons and limes (for my smoothies and detox waters), etc. And I like to keep natural peanut butter, honey, hemp seeds, flax seeds, chia seeds, double matcha green tea and coffee in my room at all times. I have been trying to make smoothies a couple times a week for my breakfast. The ones that are served at the dining hall are so laden with sugars and concentrate that they should be labeled something else besides “Fruit Smoothies”, because from what I gather they contain very little fruit at all.

With all of this said, today is my last day as a 20-year old. That’s right, the big 21 is tomorrow and I could not be more thrilled! I actually celebrated with my family yesterday afternoon and I had such a wonderful time. It was a great reminder of how much I love my family and how much they mean to me. I will probably post some of my birthday pictures on here sometime this week (if I get the chance that is). Tomorrow evening Brendan is taking me out to eat downtown. I really didn’t like the idea of spending the evening on campus eating at the dining hall for dinner on my 21st birthday, so I highly approve of these downtown dinner plans. And I adore Downtown Lynchburg, which makes it even better!

There are some new and exciting things that are happening in my life right now that I will explain in more detail on here in the near future. But I am so excited for this new stage of my life and all that I have to look forward to. After struggling to get good grades when I first started college, I am now doing well with time management and my grades have greatly improved. For once, graduation doesn’t seem so far away. With new job and internship opportunities, I finally feel like I am one step closer to the career I would like to have. It’s so awesome to see God working in my life right now.

 

And now, I think it’s time for Things To Be Happy About V. 3:

Being back at school / / Fabulous roommates / / Movie nights in the dorm / / Birthday celebration with family / / Cool, rainy weather / / Soy Pumpkin Spice Lattes / / Writing for the Liberty Champion / / Internship opportunities / / Answered prayers / / New coffee mugs / / Brendan’s patience with me / / Knowing autumn is on it’s way

 

Leave a Reply

