New Year, New Things to be Thankful For

Well, I made it through the first week of classes this semester! In a way, this whole college thing is getting easier. That may sound strange since all of my classes are upper level now and the workload is a lot heavier, but I feel more comfortable and confident with my studies this year. For the first time in my college career, all of the classes I am taking pertain to my major. Let me just say, it is so refreshing to not have to worry about math, history, or science anymore! There was a time when I never thought I’d see the light at the end of that tunnel. But now that I made it through the tunnel, I can honestly say that I am grateful for those classes and everything I learned in them.

I am SO excited about my classes this year! I am only taking 13 credit-hours this semester, which gives me more time to focus on my journalism capstone courses I am taking. I also have more time to devote to my internship with Lynchburg Living and Lynchburg Business magazines, which I am extremely blessed to have. The courses I am enrolled in this semester include Media Industry & Ethics, Liberty Champion newspaper practicum, Investigative Reporting, Senior Projects, and Media Convergence. I am pumped for these courses and all that I am going to learn in them. There are some of  the most top-notch professors teaching these classes and I know I am learning from the best.

Looking ahead at my syllabi, I know that I am going to be working on multiple projects at a time and have countless deadlines that I will have to meet. And while that does seem a bit overwhelming, I love knowing that I’m doing what I love to do! I am a planner; I like to make lists and keep things organized. Over the past couple of years I have learned to love and embrace my busy schedule. I like the feeling of being productive and getting work done. So, while all of these projects and deadlines will be challenging, I know that they will also be very rewarding.

At times, I wish that I could be finished with college so that I could get married and start a real job in my field. In some ways, I guess I think life after college will be easier. But life after college will be far from easy. I’m learning that I don’t need to wish this time in college away. As annoying as it is to have to go to school an extra semester, I know that God has allowed it for a reason. This year I am going to try to focus on really diving into my classes and the material that I will be covering. I want to take my studies seriously and learn all that I can while I am here at Liberty. I also want to really take the time to get to know the people in my classes – people who have a passion for writing just like me. College isn’t easy, but now that I look back on my time here at Liberty, I can see that I have come a long way. And if I’ve made it this far, I know that I can make it the rest of the way.

 

Things to be Happy About, V. 4:

Writing for Lynchburg Living and Lynchburg Business magazine / / Working out at the gym / / Journalism classes / / Writing for the Liberty Champion newspaper / / Mild January weather / / Watching Gossip Girl before bed / / A new season of Downton Abbey / / My little sister who is now “sweet 16” / / Staying busy

Leave a Reply

