July 21-25

Last week has come and gone and now this week is already well underway. I am currently sitting on the couch enjoying a bottle of Starbucks iced coffee with milk while Chopped Junior quietly plays on the TV screen in the background. I had a great workout this afternoon and am now resting my body and waiting for my nightly snack time to roll around haha. So while I sip my coffee, I thought I’d write up a recap of last week/weekend. 

Thursday July 21 – Thursday marked two months of marriage for Brendan and me! I always  imagined that getting married and moving in with the man I would marry would feel so strange and awkward at first and would take at least around a year of marriage to get used to. But guess what? From the moment we left for our honeymoon, I have never once felt strange or awkward living with my husband. While we were dating, hanging out with Brendan was always exciting and it was something I continuously looked forward to. And now, that hasn’t changed one bit, except for the fact that I get to hang out with him and spend time with him every single day. 🙂 Living together and being married just feels so natural and right – no doubt, guilt or shame attached. I think that’s a sign from God that we were meant to be together. ❤ 

13835610_1141053219267359_1403652892_o

Brendan and I met my mom, my sister Alli and my Maw for lunch at Panera on Thursday afternoon in Roanoke. I had been wanting Mom and Alli to come down for a visit to see our apartment and Thursday was the perfect summer day for that! After lunch, Brendan had to leave for work, but us girls decided to do a little shopping in the area before heading back to the apartment. I ended up finding a couple of cute tops that were on sale at Old Navy and Alli found a baseball cap that was on sale as well. Maw treated both of us by paying for our finds. 🙂 We mostly enjoyed window shopping and each other’s company though.

On their way back home, Mom, Alli and Maw stopped by the apartment for a short visit. I felt so grown up showing them Brendan and My home. As a teenager, I always liked keeping house while Mom was out, and I would daydream about how much fun it would be when I was grown up and married and had my very own place to clean and take care of and decorate just how I wanted. I thought it would be so much fun to have guests over for an afternoon treat or to dinner, just like in Anne of Green Gables and other novels I read as a teenager. And now here I am, a young married woman with my own place. And guess what? Having company over and showing them your home is just as fun as I imagined it would be. 🙂 

Friday July 22 – Friday morning Brendan and I got up and ready to go see Star Trek Beyond in the theaters before it got too busy. Brendan is a big Star Trek fan and was so excited to see the movie! I don’t really like seeing movies in the morning/early afternoon, but it was nice because the theater wasn’t busy and then we had the rest of our day free to get more important things done. 

After lunch I went to the gym to get in a much needed workout after not going the day before. I also started using the app My Fitness Pal to track what I am eating so I can try and get back on track and take charge of my health. Brendan started using the app back in January along with tracking his steps on his Fitbit and he has lost a lot of weight! I was a little hesitant to start using it because I try not to count calories or fat grams. I did that as a teenager and it sent me spiraling down the road to an eating disorder because I became so obsessed with it. But, I was feeling desperate and I really didn’t want to keep gaining weight. This app has actually been eye opening for me! Not only is it cool to see where I am getting my energy from and to have goals for the nutrients I need, but it has helped me re-learn portion control and to appreciate and enjoy my food. I’ve been using it for a few days now, but I  think I’ll stick with it for now because I am already starting to see results with my weight loss AND I feel so much better and less sluggish. 

Saturday July 23 – Saturday was a pretty uneventful day. I was feeling a bit run down, so instead of going to the gym and pushing myself, I opted for a few at-home workouts to switch things up. After my workout, I grabbed my grocery list and headed to the store. I know that some people consider grocery shopping a chore, but I absolutely love it! Not only is it an excuse to get out of the house, but I love putting a list together, making healthy choices and making it all fit within our budget. It’s such a satisfying feeling. After I got my groceries, I got myself an iced coffee from Starbucks and then headed home. 

Sunday July 24 – Sunday was my brother Michael’s 19th birthday. So after Brendan and I went to church, we grabbed something to eat and headed to my parent’s house for the day to help Michael celebrate! It was definitely a hot summer day. My parents’ live in an old farm house (the house that my Maw grew up in) and there is no air conditioning in any of the downstairs rooms, and with the temperatures being in the upper 90s we were all pretty sweaty by the end of the day. But I didn’t really mind the heat and the humidity, it just reminded me of summer days at home. Ah, sweet summertime! 

We had a low-key celebration – we went to go get ice cream from the Dairy Isle, the guys grilled steaks and mom fixed veggies and some yummy side dishes for dinner. Michael isn’t big into birthday celebrations, so we just kept it simple. We had chocolate cake and homemade apple crisp before Brendan and I had to head back home. Alli made Michael a surprise poop emoji cake haha. I think she did a pretty good job! 

13633429_1141137832592231_1473290993_o

Monday July 25 – Monday was an interesting day. Brendan and I ended up sleeping in later than we had planned to, so we just spent our morning taking it easy. While Brendan studied I did some reading. 

Brendan heard that Donald Trump was going to be in Roanoke for a town hall meeting that day. Since the event was being held at the Hotel Roanoke and it was free to get in, Brendan and I decided that we should go check it out to hear from Trump himself instead of listening to what Facebook and the media have to say about him. When we got to the Hotel Roanoke, there was a long line of people waiting to get inside. By the time we got inside, the conference room was already filled to capacity, and we were going to have to watch Donald Trump speak on a TV screen in a different room. After waiting around for a little while, we decided that if we couldn’t be in the conference room we might as well go home and watch it online later. Even though we didn’t stay, it was kind of cool to have Donald Trump come to our city to speak! 

13632690_1141143169258364_914910974_o

Later that afternoon we went and did some grocery shopping. After dropping our groceries off at the apartment, we changed and went to the gym for an awesome workout! We went to the gym later than we usually do so there were a lot more people there than we are used to. By the time we had finished our workout, it was after dinner time and we were both needing a pick-me-up. So we each got our caffeinated beverage of choice before heading back home for the night. 

13835469_1141143165925031_136576045_o

I cooked spinach lasagna rolls for dinner and we didn’t eat until around 9 p.m.! We watched Smallville while we ate dinner and just relaxed for the remainder of the evening. 

I am absolutely loving being back in the world of blogging and I find myself looking forward to writing these weekly recaps! However, I’ve been thinking about some different topics that I’d like to blog about and I’m hoping to get some more interesting posts up on the blog soon. I like keeping everyone up-to-date on what’s going on in my life, but I also want to use this blog as a place where I can share about things that are really important to me and that I feel other people could benefit from. 

I’m still discovering my voice and style as a blogger – there are just so many different topics to write about – but I hope that day-by-day I am getting one step closer to having this blog to where I want it to be. 

Leave a Reply

