Changing Seasons

And just like that, August has come and gone. I definitely didn’t blog as much as I had hoped to this month – I did a bit of traveling and just decided to focus on spending time with family. But as the month is wrapping up and summer is winding down, I realize that I didn’t focus on my goals for this month. So I’m thankful for the fresh new start September will bring. As much as I hate to admit it, I think I am ready for summer to lay down to rest and for autumn to come out to play. 

I have been craving chilly air, dreary days, fall festivals, cozy sweaters, hot cups of coffee, pumpkin sweets, scary movies and Edgar Allan Poe short stories. You may think that sounds “so basic” of me, but I don’t care! haha I’ve loved autumn and Halloween since I was about 13 years-old. Growing up in an old farmhouse only added to the thrilling mood that autumn brings – my siblings and I were always coming up with scary ghost stories and playing “haunted house”. My imagination seems to come back to life as the leaves begin to change – writing seems to come more easily for me and I want to devour any literature I can get my hands on. 

Autumn daydreams aside, I’m looking forward to sitting down this evening with a cup of coffee and thinking about the goals I want to set for myself during the month of September. I will be another year older in September and I just really feel the need to get serious about the person I want to be and what changes I need to make in my life. It’s still sinking in that I’ve graduated college and I’m now a married woman. And it’s both exciting and scary to think that Brendan and I might be parents within the next few years. It’s hitting me that I’m now responsible for so much more than just myself, and I want to make sure that I am following the path that God has laid out before me so that I can be the best daughter, wife and (hopefully someday) mother that I can be. 

I’ve been lazy with writing more serious blog posts and I really want to change that. For the past couple months I’ve been working on a post about my journey to a healthier lifestyle and it hasn’t been easy. While writing, I’ve had some of the pain and emotions that I experienced during my teenage years resurface. But I keep writing. I really want to share my story and I know it’s an important part of who I am. So I hope to be sharing that with you guys soon. As for the month of September, I’ve got some fun blog post ideas that will help my readers get to know me better (which I think is fitting since my birthday is in September)! 

As I finish the last drops of my ginger tea, I’m really looking forward to branching out, getting healthier and living a richer life this coming month. Here’s to September and all of the cozy autumn days that lie ahead! 

 

Leave a Reply

