Another Year Older

Today is my last day as a 22 year-old. That’s right, tomorrow is my birthday! As I’ve gotten older, birthdays don’t seem to hold the same magic and charm that they used to for me. I used to look forward to my birthday all year long – the presents, going out to eat, birthday cake and spending time with my friends and family were so exciting. All of that changed a little bit when I started college. Yes, I still enjoyed getting together with my family and spending time with them, but I always had homework, classes and work to worry about. But I guess that’s part of growing up, huh? Don’t get me wrong, getting gifts and celebrating is still fun, but birthdays have come to hold a deeper meaning to me that go beyond cake and presents.

First of all, I think it’s also a day to celebrate my mother – after all, she is the one that conceived me, carried me in her womb for 9 months, gave birth to me and put all of her time, strength and energy into raising me! If that’s not a reason to give her thanks and celebrate her I don’t know what is haha. But for me birthdays are also a time of reflection. Today I’ve been thinking back on the past year and all I have accomplished and all of the blessings that God has bestowed upon me. Within the past year I got my first car, worked my first real job, graduated college with a degree in journalism and married my best friend and the love of my life. By far, I would say it has been the best year of my life. 

Now as I sit hear typing, I am thinking “What can I do during this next year of my life to make a difference in this world?”. It’s kind of a heavy question, but the older I get the more I think about becoming a part of something bigger than myself, helping people in need and sharing God’s love with others. It’s my prayer this year that God reveal to me the areas He wants me to serve in and the people He wants me to share hope and love with. 

On another note, I haven’t been feeling the best today. I don’t exactly feel “under the weather”, but I just feel off balance and very low on energy. I woke up feeling tired and run down. I was a little discouraged since I had planned on going to the gym today and also because tomorrow is my birthday. But then I read my daily devotions from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young and my perspective and mood changed. 

Here’s what the devotional had to say: 

“Accept each day exactly as it comes to you. By that, I mean not only the circumstances of your day but also the condition of your body. Your assignment is to trust Me absolutely, resting in My sovereignty and faithfulness. 

On some days, your circumstances and your physical condition feel out of balance: The demands on you seem far greater than your strength. Days like that present a choice between two alternatives—giving up or relying on Me. Even if you wrongly choose the first alternative, I will not reject you. You can turn to Me at any point, and I will help you crawl out of the mire of discouragement. I will infuse My strength into you moment by moment, giving you all that you need for this day. Trust Me, by relying on My empowering Presence.” 

Yes I wasn’t feeling well, but I was immediately thankful that I was’t feeling a lot worse. Maybe the fact that I am not feeling the best is just a gentle nudge from God for me to take it easy today. And it may also be a sign from my body that I had an oncoming illness that needed to be defeated or toxins that needed to be flushed from my system. Either way, I am thankful that I had the choice to stay home today and focus on resting and giving my body the nurturing and attention that it needed. I watched a little tv, did some reading, fixed myself some ginger tea with honey, lemon and raw apple cider vinegar, had one of my homemade ginger shots and drank lots and lots of water. And after a nourishing dinner of whole grains and veggies, I am feeling better than I was earlier. I firmly believe that having a positive mindset and a thankful attitude will cure a multitude of ailments. 

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<   >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

And now it’s time for 30 Days of Lists Challenge!

Day 8: Random quirks of mine 

  • I tend to stand in the yoga Tree Pose a lot
  • I can’t seem to read just ONE book at a time
  • I always go to sleep laying on my stomach (one of the worst positions to sleep in)
  • I have to carry hand sanitizer with me basically everywhere I go
  • I involuntarily cry out when I see a dead animal on the side of the road 😦
  • I tend to pick at scabs when I’m bored or stressed out (totally gross, I know)
  • I walk fast everywhere I go, even when I’m not in a hurry

I feel like some of these are more random facts than random quirks, oh well! Hope you enjoyed reading my list today. 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

