Never Forget

Today is the 15th anniversary of 9/11. I was only 8 years-old at the time of the attack, so I don’t really remember a lot. I think I was confused and didn’t really understand what was happening. But one memory I have that stuck with me is from a couple of days after 9/11. I was with my mom and my siblings and I believe we were going to visit my grandma. I remember driving past a group of people on the side of the road that were holding American flags and signs that said different things regarding the attacks. I looked over at my baby sister, who was only 2 years-old at the time, sitting in her car seat and thinking “I  wonder if she will remember any of this?”. I felt so sad and sorry that she would have to grow up during a war, not even thinking that I was in the exact same situation as she was. I still remember the smile on her face at that moment, she was blissfully unaware that anything bad was going on around her. I knew that something bad was happening, I just couldn’t understand the extent of the evil. 

Fast forward 15 years, and I’m sitting in my living room with my husband watching horrific footage on the History channel from the morning of 9/11. It’s footage I have never seen before and I’m having to fight back tears. The older I get the more I understand what happened that day. And the older I get the more I realize that this world is full of evil. It’s so important to hold tight to your friends and family, because you never know when your last moment with them will be. ❤ In our lives we will come face-to-face with danger and walk through horrific tragedies. But even in times of despair, it is so comforting to know that God goes before us and walks beside us. God is bigger than the evil of this world!

I had the opportunity to visit the 9/11 Memorial when Brendan and I were on our honeymoon in May. It was such a calm and peaceful evening. And it was almost eerie that this place could seem so calm when 15 years ago it saw so much destruction, so much pain and so much loss. We walked along the memorial, looking at all of the names of the victims and those that were lost during 9/11. I said a prayer for all of the families that were affected and lost loved ones during the attacks before we left. I walked away from the memorial, my heart feeling sad. 

 

Leave a Reply

