Cloudy Skies and a Happy Heart

Have you ever had one of those days where you have a lot of thoughts running through your mind and the only way to escape the noisy chaos is to go on a long drive? Well, I had one of those days yesterday. Luckily I had already made plans to visit my family for the day and I was very thankful for an excuse to flee my little apartment and just drive.

It was a gorgeous day for a long drive. The almost-autumn day boasted of warm air, cloudy skies, and changing foliage. I was almost bursting at the seams with delight for this weather that was just melancholy enough to satisfy my somber mood while the bits of blue sky let me know that God was smiling down on me. I had ginger tea by my side for the ride while Vanessa Carlton serenaded me for the whole journey to the sleepy little town of Shipman.

The real reason I was going to visit my family was so I could help my brother on an English essay he was working on for college. It felt good to be able to put my journalistic editing skills to good use by helping my brother improve is essay. And during the process I was thrilled to discover that I actually do know a decent amount about editing essays, so I guess going to college for 4 ½ years paid off haha.

Going back home to visit my parents always eases my stress and fills me with such peace. There’s just something about the wide open fields, the fresh country air, and the protective mountains surrounding the house on all sides that brings a sense of security and comfort to me. And the older I get, the more I grow to love that little old farm house. ❤ I especially love going back home in the fall when all of the leaves on the mountains begin to gleam different shades of bronze and red.

Another thing that lifts my spirits when going back home is being surrounded by animals! My parents currently have 8 kittens, all black and orange. Some are short furred and others have fluffy little coats. My favorite is Cheetah – he’s an orange lazy kitty who has big ears and the cutest little nose. I’m kind of thinking he might be ‘the one’ to kitty-cat-nap and bring back to Roanoke to be a part of Brendan and my little family. ❤

14424122_1186680751371272_777970677_o

I ended up having the best afternoon. I had a much needed venting session with my mom (don’t we all sometimes?), my dad brought home pizza for dinner, we all played around with Snapchat filters, I fixed a nice cup of coffee (which always seems to taste better when I make it at my parents’ house), and I got to love on all of the fuzzy buddies. And if that wasn’t enough to cast my worries away, my mom French braided my hair for me (I’m a 23 year-old married woman who still gets her mom to braid her hair), fixed me a jar of some homemade potato soup that she had made the other day, and my dad gave me a Starbucks gift card as the last part of my birthday present. 

So, by the time I left that evening to start my journey back home to Roanoke, the gloom that followed me from Roanoke had passed and I was left beaming with love and sunshine in my heart. With a thermos filled with piping hot coffee next to me and Adele singing to me in the background, I didn’t even mind the two-hour drive back home to the apartment. In fact, I thoroughly enjoyed the drive home and it went by quickly.

So I’m wondering, when you have one of those days when someone says something to upset you, when you’re angry, or just feeling a bit blue, what’s your go-to to make you feel better? A few things that always brighten my mood and help me feel better are: going on a long drive, getting a cup of coffee (surprise), going to the gym, venting to a friend (or my mom haha), cooking, journaling about my feelings, watching funny animal videos on YouTube, cuddling with my husband, praying, listening to Jazz (or a favorite artist), and reading a good book. These are just a few things that I find I run to when I’m feeling upset and overwhelmed.

Just remember, your happiness depends on your attitude and mindset. You can choose to let something or someone hurt or upset you and then spend the day sulking around, OR you can choose to pray about it, brush it off, and move forward and live happy and joyfully. My day may have started out crappy, but by the time twilight rolled around I was surrounded by family and laughter and I felt happy again. J

(Fun Fact: I spent the entirety of my morning writing this post, and then the laptop decided it would have a mind of its own and delete the whole thing. So, here I sit writing it out a second time, trying to remember all of the beautiful words that got deleted.)

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<  >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

30 Days of Lists Challenge 

Day 20: Favorite words 

I read a lot of classic literature, so I tend to love the rich vocabulary and language used by the authors, whether they be American or British. However, I am drawing almost a complete blank on my favorite words, so I might have to come back  and had them here as they come to me haha.

  • Bleak
  • Loquacious
  • Melancholy
  • Blustery
  • Ominous
  • Tomfoolery
  • Vellichor
  • Eloquence
  • Somber

Wow, I need to find some sunshine-y words to add to this list! Guys, I promise I’m a happy, upbeat person haha. 

Day 21: Favorite Bible verses 

  • James 1:17
  • James 5:16
  • Luke 11:9-10
  • John 3:30
  • 1 Corinthians 6: 19-20
  • 1 Corinthians 10:13
  • 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7
  • 2 Corinthians 12: 9-10
  • Ephesians 4:32
  • Philippians 4:6-7
  • Philippians 4:8
  • Philippians 4:13

Leave a Reply

