September Goals and Healthy Habits

Since July I have been taking time to sit down at the beginning of each month to think about what goals I want to reach and what healthy habits I want to form for myself by the time the month is wrapping up. I know that many people get excited to sit down and make a huge long list of new year’s resolutions (most of which end up getting abandoned after just a few weeks), but I think that many of us never think to make monthly, or even weekly, goals for ourselves.

In my opinion, it’s easier to sit down at the beginning of each month and think ‘Okay, what were some of my highs and lows this past month? And what can I do differently this month to make changes in my life?’. Not only does this relieve you of the pressure to write out ONE long list of goals, it gives you the opportunity to have a positive mindset and start fresh each month.

So, instead of having one opportunity a year to make resolutions this method lets you make 12 smaller lists of goals that you can work toward little by little each month. Sounds a lot less intimidating, right? We’re human, so we have to allow ourselves to be human and fail sometimes. There’s nothing wrong with failure, as long as we pick ourselves back up, learn something from the experience, and try again. This is where many people mess up-they cheat on their diets, or skip a couple of workouts at the gym and then say to themselves “Well, I’ve already failed on my goals to eat healthy and workout every day this year, I might as well abandon those goals now and wait for next year to roll around before I start again”.

STOP RIGHT THERE. We’re human, remember? We’re not perfect- we cheat on our diets and eat ice cream, sometimes we have days where we’d rather sit on the couch and binge watch Netflix instead of going to the gym. The key to achieving our goals and forming lifelong healthy habits is to realize when we have messed up, and know that tomorrow is a brand new day where we can start over. Just because you skipped a workout one day doesn’t mean you should stop going to the gym altogether. And to be honest, I really need to be taking my own advice because I’ve done this time and time again. Sometimes I’ll eat junk food and then feel guilty about it afterwards and think ‘well, I already made one poor food choice today, I guess it won’t hurt to make another’. This can send me into a downward spiral of moodiness. So I’ve learned that if I know I’m going out for dinner in the evening, I make sure to make healthy food choices during the day so I can balance things. Balance and a positive mindset is the key my friends.

I thought I’d share with you guys the list of goals and healthy habits I made for myself at the beginning of the month with an update on how well I’ve been sticking to those goals. Here’s my list for September:

  • Drink at least 53oz of water a day I think I’ve been pretty consistent with this, although I’m sure I’ve had my days where I don’t quite hit the mark.
  • Drink at least 1 tsp. Apple Cider Vinegar a day I think I’ve missed one day so far.
  • Go to the gym 3 times a week It’s been more like two times a week, but I make sure I workout (whether that’s at home or at the gym) at least three times a week.
  • Take supplements everyday going strong!
  • Write everyday (journal, blog, write letters, etc.)! while I definitely haven’t been journaling as much as I’d like, I think I’ve been doing pretty well with writing more consistently this month. 
  • Read five books While I have been reading plenty of books at one time, I’ve only finished one this month. 
  • Blog at least once a week I think I’m knocking this one out of the park!
  • Pray for others Between everything that’s going on in our country and friends that are going through a difficult time, I’ve been praying long and hard these days. 
  • Read my Bible consistently I’ve started to have my daily devotions and read my Bible at a consistent time everyday and it’s helped so much

While there are some areas I could be doing better in, I’m proud of how well I’ve been sticking to this list and I know that there is always room for improvement. 🙂 What are some of your goals for the month of October? I’ll make sure to share my list with you soon. 

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<  >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

30 Days of Lists Challenge 

Day 23: Favorite patterns 

I feel like I’m not a typical girl who loves chevron everything! I tend to like more unique and funky prints, some of which I probably don’t even know the names of. But here are a few prints and patterns I could think of that I adore.

  • Stripes!
  • Tribal patterns
  • Any kind of botanical or fruit and veggie prints made into patterns
  • Moroccan
  • Polka dots
  • Quatrefoil
  • Ikat
  • Scales

Day 24: Foods that I dislike 

  • Any and every kind of meat (obviously)
  • Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • American cheese (Kraft singles is NOT real cheese people)
  • Boiled peanuts
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Corn bread
  • Grits

 

Leave a Reply

