Parched by the Summer and Thirsty for Fall

With September coming to a close, I feel the last little bits of summer quietly slipping away, and while this would normally make me feel a tad melancholy, I feel nothing but sheer delight. I have pulled out my sweaters, scarves, and boots and am ready to deck the apartment with pumpkins and autumn décor. These rainy days have been exactly what I needed – while the ground and plants were getting parched from the summer heat, so was my imagination. The rain has served as a refreshing nourishment to my soul and imagination and I feel renewed and motivated for a new month and a new season.

My body is finally getting accustomed to going to bed and waking up earlier. And while finding myself tired around 10 p.m. can make me feel old sometimes, I honestly think it’s good for my body. I feel happier and more energetic. And I’m finding out the perfect recipe for a goodnights sleep. And the ingredients are 1) Reading a chapter of a good book in bed, 2) Watching a funny/cute video and having a good belly laugh, 3) Running my diffuser with a mix of tea tree oil, lemongrass oil, and lavender oil to help cleanse the air, 4) Drinking a glass of Apple Cider Vinegar water with Lemon, and 5) Praying with my husband before drifting off to sleep. Having a regular “bedtime” routine is a lovely thing.

Waking up earlier allows Brendan and I to start our day in the quiet, reading our own devotions and spending time in God’s word before getting on with the demands of the day. I was reflecting on the past few months the other day and realizing how much happier and at ease I feel since first moving in June. While it hasn’t been easy, especially since I’m still not working, Brendan and I have continued to grow closer together and learn more about each other since getting married and moving in together. Never could I have imagined how absolutely wonderful it is to marry your best friend and live with them. God has blessed me well beyond what I deserve. We both strive daily to wisely use the provisions that God has so graciously blessed us with. It’s a learning process, but I’m so thankful to be in this stage of life.

For me, it’s been so much fun learning how to grocery shop and meal prep for the both of us each week. And I also love cleaning and keeping our apartment tidy and cozy. I know that we don’t have kids and it’s just the two of us now, but I hope that having a positive attitude about these chores now will help ease the stress of them once we do have kids.

I’m so excited to be wrapping this month up with most of my personal goals met and a few healthy habits formed. I will sit down at some point today and make my list of October goals and healthy habits that I want to work towards over the next 31 days. I’ll make sure and share them on here once I get them all in order. 🙂 

While it doesn’t look like there will be any rain this weekend, it is raining today, which I think is the perfect type of weather for a cozy Friday afternoon. Brendan and I are going to see “Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children” this evening and I am both excited and nervous at the same time! I finished reading the first book in the series by Ransom Rigg the other week and it was such a wonderful book. I’m excited to see that Rigg and Tim Burton are working together, which is sure to make it a great film. However, as it always is with the movie adaptation of a book, I’ve already seen some stark changes they have made with the movie. But, I’m hoping I can look past that for tonight and just enjoy the movie.

And now it’s time to write out my very last lists for the 30 Days of Lists Challenge! This was such a fun exercise to do and it has been wonderful motivation for me to blog more often. I’m hoping to come up with some more fun writing prompts for the month of October. 🙂

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<  >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

30 Days of Lists Challenge

Day 29: Things I’m looking forward to

  • A trip to IKEA
  • Halloween movies
  • Finding a big girl job
  • Fall festivals
  • Thanksgiving
  • Christmas (Too soon? Maybe, but I’m still looking forward to it :))

  

Day: 30 Highlights of this month

  • My birthday weekend
  • Day trips to my parents’ house
  • Getting to visit with my Maw
  • The arrival of autumn
  • Lots of rainy days
  • Getting into a regular routine

 

 

 

One thought on “Parched by the Summer and Thirsty for Fall

Leave a Reply

