Chase the Blues Away

I’m starting my day off with some Norah Jones and a big cup of coffee! I just got her new cd Day Breaks in the mail yesterday and so far I am loving it – I was so excited to hear that she’d be returning to her jazzy roots. Jazz music is good for the soul.

After a somewhat emotionally draining weekend, this week has been refreshing for me physically, mentally, and emotionally. Do you ever have those days where you just feel like you’re in a funk and you don’t know why? Well, that was me Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

For starters, last Monday my car Gypsy decided to give me a scare. As I was on my way home from the gym, the check engine light came on and the steering wheel locked up on me. Luckily, I was almost home and was in a good spot for it to happen. Brendan was able to leave work and run over to help me out (so thankful he works close by!). I was so worried that my car was dying and that would be the end of her, which upset me because I love my old car and don’t really want a newer one.

Physically speaking, I haven’t felt the best this past week. I’ve had some obnoxious headaches that just won’t seem to go away. I used to get headaches regularly, but over the past year or so haven’t really had one. I don’t like to take ibuprofen or acetaminophen unless I’m dying, I’d rather use more natural pain relievers (drinking a cup of ginger tea which helps with inflammation, essential oils, etc.) and finding the root of the problem. I think these headaches could be a combination of not getting enough sleep, going three weeks without taking my vitamin d, vitamin e, and evening primrose oil supplements, and watching/reading the news. No joke on that last one. Saturday I was SO stressed out over all of this presidential election crap. I really hate seeing friends and family members arguing back and forth about which candidate they think should be president. It’s frustrating, tiring, and so draining (mentally, emotionally, and spiritually). I have temporarily blocked several people from my Facebook newsfeed until the election is over because I was getting tired of seeing all of the hateful posts about either or both candidates.

So, to get away from the stress and negativity for a while, I deleted the Facebook app off of my phone and Brendan and I went to get my engagement ring and wedding band cleaned. We also went to a puppy shop, Barnes and Noble, and Starbucks – so by the time I had had my fill of puppies, books, and coffee I was feeling better.

Another thing that has had me stressed out recently is the fact that I still haven’t been able to find a job. God has been so good to Brendan and me and has graciously provided for all of our needs since we got married and moved earlier this year. Brendan has a wonderful job in his field that is close to home and he makes enough to comfortably support us and I am so so thankful for that. However, there is this part of me that feels incomplete because I currently don’t have a job. I used to feel this way during my first couple years of college when I wasn’t working. I like working and staying busy and feeling like I’m doing something beneficial with my time. And I know I shouldn’t care what other people think, but I’m always worried that people will look at the fact that I don’t have a job and think that I am lazy and don’t care. But I know that God’s timing is perfect, I just need to keep searching and trust that an opportunity will present itself when it’s meant to be.

In the meantime, I am continuing to blog, journal, and read almost daily so that I can keep in the practice of writing and keeping my mind sharp. I always feel better after writing and/or blogging and reading helps me relax. I have found that if I set aside a certain time every day for reading and writing, regardless of whether I feel like it or not, I am forced to create and get my imagination and creativity flowing.

Leave a Reply

