Welcome Home Cheetah

This past Saturday Brendan and I welcomed a new furry member into our little family! Cheetah is a sweet, playful 3-month old kitten that was born at my parents’ house earlier this summer. Brendan and I had been talking about possibly getting a pet, and since raising and training a puppy would be a lot of work, time, and money we decided to get a kitten to start with.

The thing about cats is that people either seem to love them or hate them. I grew up out in the country on farmland and we always had lots of animals, so from the time I was 5 years-old I’ve loved just about every animal there is. But cats always used to be my very favorite and I had one kitty in particular that will always hold a special place in my heart. Brendan grew up having cats as well, so it seemed fitting that our first pet be a kitten.


At first I was a little hesitant to bring Cheetah home with us – having a cat can sometimes limit your ability to travel, they get into all kinds of mischief, and you have to clean their litter box. But then I thought about the fact that if we took him in he would be getting the love and individual attention he needs and would be safer here in our little apartment than out in the country where my parents have had coyotes attack our animals. So with these thoughts in mind, I gladly took Cheetah in.

Our first week with Cheetah has been fun, exciting, frustrating, and annoying. While I was so excited to shop for him and buy him little treats and toys to play with, I kind of forgot about how much work it would be to train him and get him into a daily routine. Granted, training a cat is nowhere near as difficult as training a dog, but we did have to teach him to use his litter box (not a problem), not claw at the furniture, to stay on the ground while we are eating, and sleep when we are sleeping.


I had a mini anxiety attack the other day when I started looking around at my nice little apartment that was now cluttered with toys, had litter scattered on the floor, and the couch covered in a bed sheet so Cheetah wouldn’t claw at it. And then to add to all of that Cheetah got sick and threw up all over the floor! I thought to myself “well, this might be the end of having a nice clean apartment”, but that’s not true. As Cheetah gets older, he will learn how to behave and I’ll find a place for his toys and learn to clean up the extra little unexpected messes. In the moment it can just be frustrating.

Getting a kitten has taught me one thing: I’m definitely not ready to have kids yet!

Keep an eye out for more updates on my blog about Cheetah and how he’s adjusting to the city kitty life. 😊

Leave a Reply

