“I’m so Glad I Live in a World Where There Are Octobers”

What a magical month this has been. Anne from Anne of Green Gables definitely summed up my feelings when she said “I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers”. This month has been filled with pumpkin sweets, hot tea, crunchy leaves, crisp cool weather, and scary movies, and I have treasured every ounce of the autumn beauty. And while I think that October has been fun, I definitely came up short on my goals and healthy habits I wanted to set.

I started this month feeling bold and confident that I would workout more, eat healthier, and be more productive. I had goals in mind, but never wrote them down on paper. And you know what? I didn’t workout more, I definitely didn’t eat healthier, and I could have been much more productive than I actually was. I’m disappointed with myself for letting this month slip through my fingers, but I am comforted by the fact that a brand new month is just around the corner.

Yesterday Brendan and I spent the better part of the afternoon talking about our goals for the coming month and how we can save money and be healthier. After a lovely walk through the city, we decided to head to Starbucks to sit outside and enjoy the October splendor while we had our monthly budget meeting.

14881660_1223759557663391_1625296972_o

With Christmas coming up, college loans to pay off, and every day living expenses, it can be very easy to get discouraged as far as money goes. But God has been so good to us and has provided us with all we need to live comfortably right now. In November, we are going to try to cut back on eating out, tighten the grocery budget, and cut back on buying coffee and soda. One thing that I think will be a big help with the grocery budget is meal prepping. I love meal prepping and the fact that it saves time and money, it has just been hard to implement into our routine since we have such different food preferences. But this coming month we are going to make it work.

Starting tomorrow I am going to go vegan for a week as a way to cleanse and restart my eating habits and preferences. While I do eat quite a bit of vegan meals now, I haven’t gone completely vegan for this amount of time in 2 years. The last time I did was the summer of 2014 and it was such an eye opening experience! Not only did going vegan for a week help me to be more mindful of the foods I put into my body and reading ingredient labels, I was also inspired to get more creative in the kitchen. I think this will be a great way for me to kick start the month of November and help motivate me to eat healthier throughout the month.

Here are some of my goals and healthy habits I want to set for the month of November:

  • Drink at least 53 oz. of water a day
  • Drink a Tbsp. of Apple Cider Vinegar everyday
  • Drink a homemade immune boosting ginger shot once a week
  • Workout at least 3 times a week
  • Take supplements everyday
  • Go vegan for a week
  • Search/reach out more for job opportunities
  • Get back into practicing yoga regularly

I’m looking forward to November and the coming holiday seasons! Recently I have seen God at work answering some of my prayers related to job opportunities and areas to serve in and I am eager to see how it all unfolds.

Happy Halloween everyone! Enjoy the candy today and start fresh tomorrow.

 

 

Leave a Reply

