Vegan Week – Day 1

Yesterday was World Vegan Day and it also marked the beginning of my going vegan for a week. What perfect timing! My main reason for going vegan for a week is because I felt like I needed a restart. Recently I have been eating a lot of junk and slacking on going Β to the gym, and my body was screaming at me to make some changes. November 1st seemed like the perfect time to cleanse and recharge.

Right now I am happy with my weight and my body, and that’s something I haven’t been able to say since my wedding day in May. I gained weight over the summer and got so discouraged and upset with myself. I was beginning to hate looking at myself in the mirror because I always felt fat and bloated. It’s been a challenge getting back to a place where I am happy and not constantly thinking about the way I look, but I am slowly getting there.

14923972_1226106957428651_1942041581_o
Please excuse my bedhead and weird smile.Β 

Day 1 of Vegan Week was very easy for me. Since I currently eat plenty of vegan meals, it wasn’t a big shock to my body to give up dairy products. The only things I am really missing so far are cream in my coffee and honey in my hot tea, but besides that I’m doing great!

My meals were pretty simple. I had two slices of avocado toast for breakfast and a cup of coffee with almond coconut milk. For lunch/afternoon snack before the gym I had 1/2 a White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Clif Bar and echinacea tea with lemon and Apple Cider Vinegar (ACV). I made vegan tacos for dinner which consisted of roasted sweet potatoes seasoned with garlic and chili powder, and nutritional yeast in a crunchy taco shell. And I topped that with avocado, onions, corn, spinach & kale, salsa, and taco sauce. And for my bedtime snack I had a bowl of Cheerios with almond coconut milk and a cup of chamomile tea with lemon and ACV.

I definitely need to work on incorporating more fruits and veggies into my meals, but I didn’t feel deprived at all. I went to bed feeling satisfied and I wasn’t bloated like usual. One of my favorite parts about going vegan is getting creative in the kitchen. I love finding alternatives for certain ingredients and doing research and learning more about health, wellness, and nutrition.

I may not post what I eat everyday, but I will definitely keep everyone posted on how I’m feeling this week. Here’s to a happy, healthy November!

Leave a Reply

