Weekend Wanderings

This past weekend was just the right mixture of adventure and relaxation. Between football games, adopting a kitten, and having both of my brothers stay over, the past few weekends have come and gone without much one-on-one time with my husband. So on Saturday we slept in and enjoyed the fact that we didn’t have any set plans or company coming over.

Since it was such a gorgeous autumn day, we decided to get out of Roanoke for awhile and head to Lynchburg for the day. We spent the afternoon wandering around the streets of Downtown Lynchburg and visiting some of my favorite local shops like the Farm Basket.

14954274_1230817826957564_2102818804_o

14959062_1230817820290898_2138998777_o

14963535_1230817923624221_1065280385_o

This city holds a special place in my heart and continues to grow on me with each passing day. There was a time when I hated living in Lynchburg – I was starting the second semester of my freshman year of college and was tired of being in Lynchburg and just wanted to go back home. But, as time went on I came to know more about the city and I got to know the people that lived there and my heart changed. I also met Brendan in Lynchburg and that’s where our relationship blossomed. So as much as I tried to fight getting “stuck” in the Lynchburg bubble, the truth is I really do miss this beautiful little city.

Sunday was our day of rest. After getting about 5 hours of sleep and then getting up and going to church, we were both pretty tired. When we got home from church, Brendan decided to take a nap while I curled up on the couch so I could finish reading The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. We originally had nothing planned for the evening, but as I was finishing up the book and telling Brendan how I really wanted to see the movie now, he said “Want to to go see it tonight?”. So we did! We ordered pizza for dinner (we had to do some research to make sure I could order something that was vegan friendly at Dominos) and then got dressed and ready to go to the movies.

I thought that The Girl on the Train was brilliant and the movie adaptation did not disappoint! Emily Blunt did an amazing job playing Rachel Watson and I was pleased that the plot, dialogue, and characters stayed true to the book (very rare to see these days). The only problem I had with the movie is that it was placed in New York instead of London, but I was able to look past that detail and enjoy the movie anyway.

After a refreshing weekend, I’m feeling motivated and ready to be productive. First on the to-do list this week is tidy the apartment! Having a 3-month old kitten living with you can be quite messy sometimes.

Have a great Monday!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

