Using Vaccines as a Crutch

Around this time last year I was writing my very first opinion article for my magazine writing class at Liberty University. Being an amateur at opinion writing, I wanted to pick a topic that was very important to me and one that I knew I could write well – so naturally I chose to write about the flu vaccine. I came across this article when I was going through some of my school papers the other day and thought that it was worth sharing. This piece I wrote last year sums up my thoughts on the flu vaccine, and while some of the statistics may have changed in a years time, I still think it’s worth a share.

I got a good grade on this article and my professor and classmates seemed to find it interesting and enjoyed reading it. I am not claiming to be a medical professional, I’m simply stating facts I have researched and my own opinion. And like I mentioned before, this was my very first opinion piece, so please be kind if you comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Using Vaccines as a Crutch

by Ashley Bunner (I wasn’t married yet ๐Ÿ™‚ ) 11/5/2015

In a society where we demand a quick fix for everything, Americans have come to rely too heavily on doctors and medication, turning their backs on the bodyโ€™s natural ability to heal itself.

We Americans expect there to be a pill or a vaccine for everything โ€“ whether it be a minor ache or if someone has something as common as a cold โ€“ and we expect doctors to give us these so called โ€œremediesโ€ if we pay them a visit, regardless of whether we actually need them or not.ย 

The problem with this is that we as a society are trained to run to the doctor for every minor illness. Now, donโ€™t get me wrong, I respect doctors and am thankful for the medical advancements we have made and the health care options that we do have available today. However, we have become so dependent on doctors diagnosing us and giving us medications, that we have started to neglect our own health.

That may sound strange to some people that consider going to their doctors as โ€œtaking care of their healthโ€, but what most people fail to realize is that health care starts with learning how to properly take care of their own health needs and strengthening their immune systems.

Flu season is a wonderful example of how people use doctors and medicine as a crutch for taking charge of their own health. When it comes to the flu virus, I believe that natural preventative measures are better, and certainly healthier, than opting for the flu vaccine.

According to Peter Doshi, a scientist from the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, 32 million doses of the influenza vaccine were available on an annual basis in the United States 20 years ago. But today, the total has reached an alarming 135 million doses.

So many people rush to get their flu vaccine as soon as pharmaceuticals start offering them โ€“ mainly because their doctors (and the government) push them to. But what these people fail to realize is that the flu vaccine can actually weaken the immune system, making them more susceptible to contracting other viruses.

โ€œThere are three reasons the government tells the elderly why they should get flu shots: secondary pneumonia, hospitalization, and death,โ€ Dr. Russell Blaylock, a neurosurgeon and author of โ€œThe Blaylock Wellness Reportโ€, said in an article on Mercola.com about the hidden risks of flu vaccines. โ€œYet a study by the Cochrane group studied hundreds of thousands of people and found it offered zero protection for those three things in the general community.โ€

Now, in my grandparentโ€™s experience, when they received the flu vaccination, it did all but help them stay out of the hospital.

Approximately 10 years ago, my grandfather went to go get the flu vaccine. The night that my grandfather had gotten vaccinated he started feeling very ill. The symptoms increased as the night went on, and resulted in him blacking out and falling down the stairs to the basement.

He was rushed to the hospital – bruised, beaten and in a coma. My grandfather never did wake up from the coma he was in and two and a half years later, he passed away.

No one will ever know for sure whether or not the flu vaccine caused this incident, but it has certainly been one of the reasons I am wary of the vaccine.

Besides weakening of the immune system, another reason to opt out of the flu vaccine is that it contains mercury, which is known to be harmful to humans. The mercury contained in vaccines is called Thimerosal, which is an ethyl mercury-based preservative.

According to Blaylock, Thimerosal can actually act as an immune depressant, making people that get the flu vaccine much more susceptible to contracting the flu.

โ€œThey may even think the vaccine gave them the flu, but thatโ€™s not true โ€” it depressed their immune system and then they caught the flu,โ€ Blaylock said.

According to Osteopathic Physician Dr. Joseph Mercola, a typical dose of thimerosal-containing flu vaccine contains 25 micrograms thimerosal. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) states that the โ€œsafe limit for human exposure to mercury is 0.1 mcg per kilo of weight per dayโ€.

โ€œSince almost half of the thimerosal is mercury, this means that each flu shot contains just over 12 mcg’s of mercury, which would be considered unsafe for anyone weighing less than 120 kilos, or just under 265 pounds,โ€ Mercola said on his website Mercola.com.

So my question is, why are so many Americans opting for the flu vaccine instead of taking natural preventative measures? The vaccine weakens their immune systems, makes them more susceptible to catching the flu and other viruses and exposes their bodies to harmful metals and chemicals. While strengthening the immune system naturally โ€“ by eating a wide variety of fruits and vegetables, drinking herbal and supplemental teas and getting plenty of rest โ€“ has no adverse side effects.ย 

โ€œFact is, your body has all the tools it needs to protect itself without a toxic flu vaccine, so long as you take safer steps โ€“ starting today โ€“ to boost your immune system,โ€ Melissa Wood, a retired Naturopath, said on her website Stay Healthy and Well.com.

Either method you choose, vaccination or natural preventatives, there is going to be a chance of contracting the nasty virus. But for me, I think Iโ€™d rather nourish my body while trying to ward off the flu virus, instead of damaging it with a vaccine.

Leave a Reply

