Not Your Mom’s Vegan Baked Potato Soup

When I decided to go vegan in November I was sad at the thought of not being able to eat my mom’s baked potato soup again. I loved it when she would make this soup on cold winter evenings – rich, hardy, and so creamy, it was the perfect dinner to warm the heart and the soul. I gave up meat 5 years ago, so I was used to cooking for myself when I still lived with my parents. But this was one of the only meals of my mom’s that I still ate and I wasn’t sure if I was ready to give it up.

The other day I had a craving for a nice big bowl of that potato soup, so I decided to take my mom’s recipe and adapt it to a vegan version! I was a little hesitant to try it at first since I can’t stand vegan cheeses (or at least the few I’ve tried), but I was actually pleasantly surprised with the way it turned out. Did it taste exactly like my mom’s? No. But it did taste very similar and it’s good enough for me to have and not feel guilty about putting dairy into my body.

The thing I’m learning about vegan foods is that you can’t expect it to taste exactly like the non-vegan version. The goal is to try to make the dish taste as similar as possible, but make it your own. And that’s the key: treat it as it’s own separate dish! I usually avoid fake meats and cheeses because they gross me out and to me that defeats the purpose of why I went vegan (for my health) because these foods are so overly processed. But sometimes you just need some good comfort food, and I’m very happy to have this recipe on hand.

16107756_1303628413009838_405555706_o

Not Your Mom’s Vegan Baked Potato Soup

Ingredients: 

1/3 cup Earth Balance butter

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

3 1/2 cups of non-dairy milk (I used cashew)

2 large baked potatoes, peeled and cubed

2 green onions, chopped

3/4 cup of Daiya shredded cheddar cheese

1/2 cup Tofutti dairy free sour cream

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

Chopped green onion for garnish (optional)

Directions:

  1. In a stockpot, melt vegan butter over medium heat. Whisk in flour until smooth. Gradually stir in milk, whisking constantly until thickened. Stir in potatoes and onions.
  2. Bring to a boil, stirring frequently.
  3. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Mix in cheese, sour cream, salt, black pepper, and garlic powder.
  4. Continue cooking, stirring frequently, until cheese is melted.
  5. Serve with green onion garnish and a side of locally baked fresh bread. Enjoy!

Also, I just realized that 3 years ago today I started my blog! Yay! 🙂

Leave a Reply

